How long can you leave Canada and keep health insurance from your province? It depends on where you live. Most provincial and territorial plans let you be away for about six to seven months a year, and several allow a longer absence if you arrange it first. But every plan pays only a small part of emergency bills outside Canada, so the time limit is only half of the question.
Below is one table with the rules for all 13 plans, then extended absences, payments abroad, US day counts and a snowbird checklist.
How long can you leave Canada and keep health insurance?
Most plans let you be away for about six to seven months in a year, as long as your home stays in the province. Quebec allows fewer than 183 days outside the province per calendar year. Ontario allows up to 212 days in any 12-month period. BC, Saskatchewan and Nova Scotia allow seven months of travel, and Manitoba seven months outside Canada.
Two details trip people up. First, the clock usually runs on days outside your province, not just days outside Canada, so a summer trip within Canada can use up part of your allowance. Second, many plans want notice before a long trip, even when you stay within the limit.
Time-away limits by province and territory (rules as of October 2026)
The table sums up each plan's rules for vacation travel, from its official pages in October 2026. Each province links to our travel insurance page for it, and each plan name links to its government page. Rules for work, study and medical absences differ, and rules change, so confirm with your plan before you book.
| Province or territory | Time-away rule for travel | Longer or extended absence | What the plan pays for emergencies outside Canada |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ontario (OHIP) | More than 212 days outside Ontario in any 12-month period may mean reapplying. | Outside Canada more than 7 months: keep OHIP up to 2 years if Ontario is your primary home, your card is valid and you spent 153+ days in Ontario in each of the two 12-month periods before leaving. | Inpatient: $400 a day for intensive, coronary, operating-room or special care units, $200 a day for lower levels. Outpatient: $50 a day or the bill, whichever is less. |
| British Columbia (MSP) | Vacation only: up to 7 months in a calendar year. Contact Health Insurance BC if you'll be away 6 months or more. | Up to 24 consecutive months, once in a 60-month period, if you were in Canada 6 of the 12 months before leaving. | Emergency inpatient hospital care: up to $75 a day. |
| Alberta (AHCIP) | Residents commit to 183 days in Alberta in any 12-month period. Contact AHCIP before an absence of more than 6 months in a year. | Alberta says snowbirds may be eligible for up to 212 days away in a 12-month period. Ask AHCIP before you go. | Limited coverage, with no daily amount on the pages we checked. Claims within 365 days. |
| Saskatchewan (eHealth Saskatchewan) | Up to 7 months outside the province, a limit raised from 6 months on January 1, 2016. | Away more than 7 months: update your card. Extended absences run up to 12 months for travel or visits. | Limited emergency coverage, with no daily amount on the pages we checked. |
| Manitoba (Manitoba Health) | Vacation outside Canada: up to 7 months with notice (6 months within Canada). Report any absence of 90 days or more in a 12-month period. | Apply 6 to 8 weeks before you leave with the temporary out-of-province benefits request. | Limited coverage, with no daily amount on the pages we checked. |
| Quebec (RAMQ), information only | Fewer than 183 days outside Quebec per calendar year. Trips of 21 consecutive days or less, and departure and return dates, aren't counted. | Once every 7 years, you may spend 183 days or more away in one calendar year, if you meet the conditions. | Sudden illness or accident: up to $100 a day in hospital, $50 a day for outpatient clinic care. Ambulance transport isn't covered. |
| New Brunswick (Medicare) | Notify Medicare before any absence of 30 days or more. | Up to 12 months of coverage, once every three years. | Emergency hospital services, and emergency physician services at New Brunswick rates. |
| Nova Scotia (MSI) | Vacation: up to 7 months in a calendar year. | A 12-month absence once every six years. | Inpatient emergencies from an accident or sudden illness only. Outpatient charges aren't payable. Claims within 6 months. |
| Prince Edward Island (Health PEI) | Live on the Island at least six months plus a day each year. | Not stated on the pages we checked. Ask Health PEI. | Not stated on the pages we checked. Ask Health PEI. |
| Newfoundland and Labrador (MCP) | Get an Out-of-Province Coverage Certificate before leaving for more than 30 days. | Certificates run up to 12 months for temporary workers and students. Ask MCP about long vacations. | Hospital plan: up to $350 a day in a community or regional hospital, $465 a day in a tertiary hospital, $62 a day for outpatient care. |
| Yukon (YHCIP), information only | File a notification of extended absence before a long trip. Yukon pages give different thresholds, so check the current form. | Coverage ends after 12 months away unless Insured Health Services grants a waiver. | May not pay all costs outside Yukon and Canada. Ground and air ambulance aren't insured. |
| Northwest Territories (NWT Health Care Plan), information only | Be physically present at least 153 days a year. File a Temporary Absence Form if away more than 3 months. | Contact the Health Services Administration office about documents for absences over 3 consecutive months. | Emergency or sudden-illness care, paid at NWT rates only. You pay the difference. |
| Nunavut (Nunavut Health Care Plan), information only | Tell the Health Care Registrations Office if you'll be away more than 6 months. | Extended vacation: up to 365 days, with notice and a temporary address. | Limited, at Nunavut fee-schedule and hospital reciprocal rates. Ambulance charges aren't covered. |
Rules as of October 2026, summarised from each plan's official pages. They are general information, not a ruling on your eligibility. Instasure's licensed advisor service isn't available in Quebec or the territories yet, so those rows are for information.
Calendar year or any 12 months?
There's no single snowbird six-month rule in Canada, and how your plan counts days matters as much as the limit itself. Quebec, BC and Nova Scotia count within a calendar year. Ontario and Alberta look at any 12-month period, so a long winter that crosses January doesn't reset on New Year's Day.
Quebec has two counting rules worth knowing. Absences of 21 consecutive days or less don't count, and neither do your departure and return dates. A short spring trip can therefore sit outside your Quebec tally, while the same trip could count in Ontario.
Extended absences: one-time and repeat options
Several plans offer an extended absence: a longer period away during which you keep your card. Each has conditions, and most must be arranged before you leave.
- Ontario: outside Canada more than seven months in a 12-month period? You may keep OHIP for up to two years if you meet the residence conditions in the table.
- British Columbia: up to 24 consecutive months, once in a 60-month period. You must have been physically present in Canada for six of the 12 months before departure.
- Quebec: once every seven years, you may spend 183 days or more outside Quebec in a calendar year and stay eligible.
- Nova Scotia: a 12-month absence once every six years.
- New Brunswick: up to 12 months of coverage once every three years, counted from your return.
An extended absence protects your eligibility. It doesn't change what your plan pays for care abroad, which is where the real cost sits.
What each plan pays for care outside Canada
Plans pay for emergency care abroad at home rates, not foreign prices. That's the core of out of country health coverage by province. Here are the published daily amounts we found, as of October 2026:
| Plan | Emergency inpatient care, per day | Outpatient care |
|---|---|---|
| Ontario (OHIP) | $400 in intensive, coronary, operating-room or special care units. $200 for lower levels of care. | $50 a day or the hospital bill, whichever is less. |
| British Columbia (MSP) | Up to $75. | Not stated on the page we checked. |
| Quebec (RAMQ) | Up to $100. | Up to $50 a day at a hospital outpatient clinic. |
| Newfoundland and Labrador (MCP) | Up to $350 in a community or regional hospital. Up to $465 in a tertiary or specialized hospital. | Up to $62 a day. |
Canadian dollars, from each plan's official pages as of October 2026. The other plans give no daily figure on the pages we checked.
RAMQ gives a plain example of the gap. For a three-day intensive care stay in Florida with a hospital bill of $25,000, it reimbursed $300. The rest fell to the traveller or their private insurer.
Other limits matter too. Nova Scotia doesn't pay outpatient charges abroad, and Quebec, Yukon and Nunavut don't cover ambulance charges. Planned care abroad needs approval before you go in Ontario and BC. Most plans' own pages advise buying private travel insurance before you leave.
If you're not the one leaving
These rules apply to residents enrolled in a plan. If you're hosting a parent or grandparent, see our page on visitors insurance Canada and the Super Visa insurance guide. Coverage for students from abroad depends on the province, so see international student health insurance in Canada.
How time away interacts with US stay limits
Your province counts days outside the province. The United States keeps its own counts for entry and for tax.
For tax, the IRS uses the substantial presence test. On its Form 8840, you meet the test if you were in the US for at least 31 days in the current year and 183 days over the current year and the two before it. Days in the current year count in full, a third of last year's days count, and a sixth of the year before. Someone who meets the test can still claim the closer connection exception on Form 8840, filed separately for each year, if they spent fewer than 183 days in the US that year and meet the other conditions.
This is not tax or immigration advice. How long you may stay as a visitor is a question for US Customs and Border Protection, and tax status is one for the IRS, the Canada Revenue Agency or a cross-border tax professional. Staying within your provincial limit doesn't settle your US position, and the reverse is also true.
What snowbird travel insurance costs for a long stay
Snowbird travel insurance covers emergency medical costs for stays of several months. Price rises with age and the length of the stay. Here's what Instasure's model shows for two example travellers:
| Example traveller, emergency medical only | 120 days | 150 days | 182 days |
|---|---|---|---|
| Age 65 | $900 ($720 to $1,116) | $1,125 ($900 to $1,395) | $1,365 ($1,092 to $1,693) |
| Age 70 | $1,320 ($1,056 to $1,637) | $1,650 ($1,320 to $2,046) | $2,002 ($1,602 to $2,482) |
Instasure estimates for an example profile (one traveller, emergency medical only, USA or worldwide), per trip, as of October 2026. These are modelled estimates, not quotes and not averages. Our model doesn't rate medical questionnaire answers, which can change a real quote a lot.
For travel insurance for seniors, the medical questionnaire and stability periods decide whether a claim is paid. Our guide to travel insurance with pre-existing conditions explains how they work.
Snowbird planning checklist
Use this checklist for snowbird provincial health rules a few months before you book.
- Find your plan's limit and counting period. Check whether your plan counts the calendar year or any 12 months, and add up every trip outside your province, not only the winter one.
- Give notice on time. Manitoba asks for 6 to 8 weeks' notice, New Brunswick wants to hear about any absence of 30 days or more, and Newfoundland and Labrador issues a certificate for trips over 30 days.
- Decide early on an extended absence. If you might stay longer than the usual limit, apply before you leave, and note how often your plan allows it.
- Keep proof of residence. Note each departure and return date. The NWT, for example, asks snowbirds for a recent tax form and a statutory declaration.
- Buy coverage for the whole stay. A policy shorter than your trip leaves the last weeks uninsured. If you rely on a credit card or group plan, check its trip length and top it up if needed.
- Answer the medical questionnaire carefully. A medication change or new symptom before you leave can affect coverage for that condition.
- Know the claim deadlines. Alberta wants out-of-country claims within 365 days, and Nova Scotia doesn't accept claims after 6 months. Ask for itemized hospital bills: Newfoundland and Labrador requires a detailed statement.
Michael's take
As a planner, I treat the time-away limit as a hard line in a retirement budget, not a target. My rule of thumb is to plan your longest trip to end a few weeks before your plan's limit. That way a delayed flight or a change in plans doesn't push you over. I'd also count days the way your plan counts them, because a calendar-year plan and a 12-month plan can give different answers for the same winter.
The bigger risk to the plan isn't the days, it's the bill. The daily amounts in this guide are small next to a foreign hospital stay, so I'd budget private travel coverage as a fixed part of the winter, like rent or flights. Buy it for the full stay before you book non-refundable travel. And keep tax and border questions with the professionals who handle them, separate from the health plan question.
Next steps
Confirm your province's rules with your plan before you book. For an instant estimate for your own trip, use our travel insurance quote tool. Compare out of province travel insurance options on our travel insurance page, or see the rules for travel insurance in Ontario.
For a long winter or a medical condition, request a call from our Snowbird travel desk. A licensed advisor in your province can walk through the medical questionnaire with you and compare insurers. Advisor service isn't available in Quebec or the territories yet, so the rules for those plans are for information.
